Expats in Uganda

Your Practical Guide to settling and living in Uganda

Kampala is the biggest and capital city of Uganda, with a population of about 1,723,200 (2010 Estimates). Of the 189 sq. kms, 176 sq.kms is land and 13 sq.km is water. Kampala is headed by the Lord Mayor. All administrative, political, social and economic operations are centralized by Kampala Capital City Authority. The City was originally built on 7 hills. The first hill in historical importance is Kasubi hill, the second is Mengo hill, the third is Kibuli hill, the fourth is Namirembe hill, the fifth is Lubaga hill, the sixth Nsambya hill and the seventh is Kampala hill. Luganda (one of the native languages) and English are the most commonly spoken languages. The capital is divided into 5 regions that oversee local planning: Kampala Central Division, Kawempe Division, Makindye Division, Nakawa Division and Lubaga Division.

This is our capital