Expats in Uganda

Your Practical Guide to settling and living in Uganda

[column md=”2″]

[column md=”10″]
This is our capital

Kampala is the capital city of Uganda, with a population of about 1,723,200 (2010 estimate). Of the 189 sq. kms, 176 sq.kms is land and 13 sq.km is water. Kampala is headed by the Lord Mayor.  All administrative, political, social and economic operations are centralized by Kampala Capital City Authority.

The City was originally built on 7 hills. The first hill of historical importance is Kasubi hill, the second is Mengo hill, the third is Kibuli hill, the fourth is Namirembe hill, the fifth is Lubaga hill, the sixth Nsambya hill and the seventh is Kampala hill.

Luganda (one of the local languages) and English are the most commonly spoken languages.

The capital is divided into 5 regions that oversee local planning: Kampala Central Division, Kawempe Division, Makindye Division, Nakawa Division and Rubaga Division.

Brief History of Uganda

The History of Uganda is divided into 2 periods: Pre and Post Independence. Uganda’s population is composed of several ethnic groups (Bantu, Nilotics, and Nilo hamites). In the old days, leadership was in the hands of hereditary Kings.

In the 1830s Arab traders and Europeans moved into Uganda with various interests. After World War 2, veterans and patriots from all corners of the country convened a rally with the objective of attaining independence. In 1962 Uganda gained Independence from the British after the alliance between Uganda People’s Congress (UPC) and Kabaka Yekka (KY). The Buganda Kabaka (King) Edward Muteesa II was elected as a ceremonial president.

In I966, UPC dominated parliament and Milton Obote was elected the executive President. Uganda was then declared a republican state. After a military coup in 1971, Obote was overthrown by Idi Amin. Amin ruled Uganda with the military for the next eight years. Amin’s reign was ended after the Uganda-Tanzania War in 1979 in which Tanzanian forces aided by Ugandan exiles invaded Uganda. This led to the return of Obote, who was deposed in 1985 by General Tito Okello. Okello ruled for six months until he was deposed by the National Resistance Army (NRA) operating under the leadership of the current President, H.E Gen. Yoweri Museveni.


HEAD OF STATE: H.E Gen. President Yoweri Kaguta Museveni.

CAPITAL: Kampala

ORGANIZATION OF THE STATE: Uganda operates under a decentralized local government system with the local government unit being district. The district is composed of units that rank from county, sub- countY parish to Village/LC 1.

OFFICIAL LANGUAGE: English and Swahili

NATIONAL HOLIDAY: 9th October Independence Day

CURRENCY: Ugandan Shillings

POPULATION: 37,828,742 (2014 estimate)