Expats in Uganda

Your Practical Guide to settling and living in Uganda

Entebbe International Airport is about 40km / 22miles southwest of Kampala. A taxi cab from the airport is approximately $30 and $2 for public means. For public transport, there’s a choice of taxis (mini-vans) locally known as “Matatu” or motorcycles locally known as “BobaBoda”.

Kampala is the biggest and capital city of Uganda, with a population of about 1,723,200 (2010 Estimates). Of the 189 sq. kms, 176 sq.kms is land and 13 sq.km is water. Kampala is headed by the Lord Mayor. All administrative, political, social and economic operations are centralized by Kampala Capital City Authority. The City was originally built on 7 hills. The first hill in historical importance is Kasubi hill, the second is Mengo hill, the third is Kibuli hill, the fourth is Namirembe hill, the fifth is Lubaga hill, the sixth Nsambya hill and the seventh is Kampala hill. Luganda (one of the native languages) and English are the most commonly spoken languages. The capital is divided into 5 regions that oversee local planning: Kampala Central Division, Kawempe Division, Makindye Division, Nakawa Division and Lubaga Division.

Welcome Addresses

  • www.visituganda.com
  • www.ugo.co.ug
  • www.theeye.co.ug
  • www.safari-in-uganda.com
  • http://washington.mofa.go.ug/


  • CID Headquarters: 0800199499
  • Fire Brigade: 0421222/ 0714667752
  • Medical/ Health: 0417 727 100/ 101
  • Ambulance: 0800111044
  • Police Operations Headquarters: 0800199699

The History of Uganda is divided into 2 periods: Pre and Post Independence. Uganda’s population is composed of several ethnic groups (Bantu, Nilotics, and Nilo hamites). In the old days, leadership was in the hands of hereditary Kings. In the 1830s Arab traders and Europeans moved into Uganda with various interests. After World War 2, veterans and patriots from all corners of the country convened a rally with the objective of attaining independence. In 1962 Uganda gained Independence from the British after the alliance between Uganda People’s Congress (UPC) and Kabaka Yekka (KY). The Buganda Kabaka (King) Edward Muteesa II was elected as a ceremonial president. In I966, UPC dominated parliament and Milton Obote was elected the executive President. Uganda was then declared a republican state. After a military coup in 1971, Obote was over thrown by Idi Amin. Amin ruled Uganda with the military for the next eight years. Amin’s reign was ended after the Uganda-Tanzania War in 1979 in which Tanzanian forces aided by Ugandan exiles invaded Uganda. This led to the return of Obote, who was deposed in 1985 by General Tito Okello. Okello ruled for six months until he was deposed by the National Resistance Army (NRA) operating under the leadership of the current President, H.E Gen. Yoweri Museveni POLITICAL REGIME: Republic State HEAD OF STATE: H.E Gen. President Yoweri Kaguta Museveni. CAPITAL: Kampala ORGANIZATION OF THE STATE: Uganda operates under a decentralized local government system with the local government unit being district. The district is composed of units that rank from county, sub- county to Village/LC 1. OFFICIAL LANGUAGE: English and Swahili NATIONAL HOLIDAY: 9th October CURRENCY: Ugandan Shillings POPULATION: 37,828,742 (2014 estimates)
UGANDAN INSTITUTIONS There are 3 major institutions namely: The Executive, Parliament and the Judiciary. The Executive is headed by the President who is both the head of state and government. The President appoints the Vice President and the Prime Minister, who work hand in hand with him. The State house: +256 41 231900, w: www.statehouse.go.ug, e: info@statehouse.go.ug The parliament is headed by the Speaker. Currently the Parliament of Uganda has 332 members. Parliament of the Republic of Uganda, 16-18 Parliament Avenue, t: 0414377000/150
The East African community pledges to develop policies that support the community so to have a prosperous, competitive, secure, stable and politically united East Africa. It all began in 1900, when Mombasa established as a customs center for Uganda. In 1905 a currency board was then set up to issue currency for Kenya and Uganda. The 1917 customs union established between Kenya and Uganda welcomed Tanganyinka (Tanzania) on board in 1922. The high commission was established in 1984.In 1961 common service organization established with various services forinstance the East African Development bank, railways and Harbours, posts and Telecommunication, East African Airways, East African Civil Aviation. In 1967 the first treaty was signed between Uganda, Kenya and Tanganyika (Tanzania) establishing the community. The community had a few challenges that led to its collapse in 1977. One of the tools to the challenges in the community was division of assets and liabilities. On the 30 November 1999, the treaty re-establishing the E.A community was then signed. Today’s E.A.C has 5 countries: the 3 founding countries plus Rwanda and Burundi THE EAST AFRICAN INSTITUTIONS The E.A Community has 4 institutions, each with a specific role: The Customs Union: countries remove tariffs and other barriers on the movement of goods originated from among member states. Common Market: member states come together to trade hence creating a bigger consumer base for their products and services. Monetary Union: states agree on a single currency with the common market.( directed in 2012 though not implemented yet). Political Federation: states form a super state under a single political Authority.