Expats in Uganda

Your Practical Guide to settling and living in Uganda

The East African community pledges to develop policies that support the community so to have a prosperous, competitive, secure, stable and politically united East Africa. It all began in 1900, when Mombasa established as a customs center for Uganda. In 1905 a currency board was then set up to issue currency for Kenya and Uganda. The 1917 customs union established between Kenya and Uganda welcomed Tanganyinka (Tanzania) on board in 1922. The high commission was established in 1984.In 1961 common service organization established with various services forinstance the East African Development bank, railways and Harbours, posts and Telecommunication, East African Airways, East African Civil Aviation.

In 1967 the first treaty was signed between Uganda, Kenya and Tanganyika (Tanzania) establishing the community. The community had a few challenges that led to its collapse in 1977. One of the tools to the challenges in the community was division of assets and liabilities. On the 30 November 1999, the treaty re-establishing the E.A community was then signed.

Today’s E.A.C has 5 countries: the 3 founding countries plus Rwanda and Burundi

The E.A Community has 4 institutions, each with a specific role:
The Customs Union: countries remove tariffs and other barriers on the movement of goods originated from among member states.
Common Market: member states come together to trade hence creating a bigger consumer base for their products and services.
Monetary Union: states agree on a single currency with the common market.( directed in 2012 though not implemented yet). Political Federation: states form a super state under a single political Authority.