Expats in Uganda

Your Practical Guide to settling and living in Uganda

The History of Uganda is divided into 2 periods: Pre and Post Independence. Uganda’s population is composed of several ethnic groups (Bantu, Nilotics, and Nilo hamites). In the old days, leadership was in the hands of hereditary Kings. In the 1830s Arab traders and Europeans moved into Uganda with various interests. After World War 2, veterans and patriots from all corners of the country convened a rally with the objective of attaining independence. In 1962 Uganda gained Independence from the British after the alliance between Uganda People’s Congress (UPC) and Kabaka Yekka (KY). The Buganda Kabaka (King) Edward Muteesa II was elected as a ceremonial president.

In I966, UPC dominated parliament and Milton Obote was elected the executive President. Uganda was then declared a republican state. After a military coup in 1971, Obote was over thrown by Idi Amin. Amin ruled Uganda with the military for the next eight years. Amin’s reign was ended after the Uganda-Tanzania War in 1979 in which Tanzanian forces aided by Ugandan exiles invaded Uganda. This led to the return of Obote, who was deposed in 1985 by General Tito Okello. Okello ruled for six months until he was deposed by the National Resistance Army (NRA) operating under the leadership of the current President, H.E Gen. Yoweri Museveni

HEAD OF STATE: H.E Gen. President Yoweri Kaguta Museveni.
CAPITAL: Kampala
ORGANIZATION OF THE STATE: Uganda operates under a decentralized local government system with the local government unit being district. The district is composed of units that rank from county, sub- county to Village/LC 1.

OFFICIAL LANGUAGE: English and Swahili
CURRENCY: Ugandan Shillings
POPULATION: 37,828,742 (2014 estimates)

There are 3 major institutions namely: The Executive, Parliament and the Judiciary.
The Executive is headed by the President who is both the head of state and government. The President appoints the Vice President and the Prime Minister, who work hand in hand with him.
The State house: +256 41 231900, w: www.statehouse.go.ug, e: info@statehouse.go.ug
The parliament is headed by the Speaker. Currently the Parliament of Uganda has 332 members. Parliament of the Republic of Uganda, 16-18 Parliament Avenue, t: 0414377000/150