The East African Community (EAC) is a regional intergovernmental organisation of six Partner States, comprising Burundi, Kenya, Rwanda, South Sudan, Tanzania and Uganda, with its headquarters in Arusha, Tanzania

The EAC is structured into seven main Organs:

  1. The Summit
  2. The Council of Ministers
  3. The Co-ordinating Committee
  4. Sectoral Committees
  5. The East African Court of Justice
  6. The East African Legislative Assembly
Research Commission (EAHRC); the East African Kiswahili Commission (EAKC);the East African Science and Technology Commission (EASTECO); the Inter-University Council for East Africa (IUCEA); the Lake Victoria Basin Commission (LVBC); and the Lake Victoria Fisheries Organisation (LVFO).

The four pillars of EAC integration are:

  1. The Customs Union
  2. The Common Market
  3. The Monetary Union
  4. The Political Federation